Start of the Constitutional Convention

Start of the Constitutional Convention


Transcript of journal, and notes about the first couple of weeks of the Consitutional Convention

Stories about Start of the Constitutional Convention

Assembling of the Convention

  • Philadelphia, PA

On Monday the 14th of May, A.D. 1787. and in the eleventh year of the independence of the United States of America, at the State-House in the city of Philadelphia, in virtue of appointments from their respective States, sundry Deputies to the federal convention appeared.  but, a majority of the States not being represented, the members present adjourned from day to day until Friday the 25th of the said month, when, in virtue of the said appointments appeared from the States of

Massachusetts %u2013 The honorable Rufus King Esquire

New York %u2013 The honorable Robert Yates, and Alexander Hamilton Esquires.

New Jersey %u2013 The honorable David Brearly, William Churchill Houston, and William Patterson Esquires.

Pennsylvania %u2013 The honorable Robert Morris, Thomas Fitzlimmons, James Wilson, and Gouverneur Morris Esquires.

Delaware %u2013 The honorable George Read, Richard Basset, and Jacob Broom Esquires.

Virginia %u2013 His Excellency George Washington Esquire, His Excellency Edmund Randolph Esquire, The honorable John Blair, James Madison, George Mason, George Wythe, and James McClurg Esquires.

North Carolina %u2013 The honorable Alexander Martin, William Richardson Davie, Richard Dobbs Spaight, and Hugh Williamson Esquires.

South Carolina %u2013 The honorable John Rutledge, Charles Colesworth Pinckney, Charles Pinckney, and Pierce Butles Esquires.

Georgia %u2013 The honorable [blank] Few Esquire

It was moved by the honorable Robert Morris Esquire, One of the Deputies from Pennsylvania, that a President be elected by ballot, which was agreed to.  And Thereupon he nominated, on the part of the said State, His Excellency George Washington Esquire.  The members then proceeded to ballot on behalf of their respective states %u2013 and, the ballots being taken, it appeared that the said George Washington was unanimously elected %u2013 and he was e??acted to the chair by the honorable Robert Morris, and John Rutledge Esquires.

The President then proposed to the House that they should proceed to the election of a Secretary %u2013 and, the ballots being taken, it appeared that William Jackson, Esquire was elected.  The following credentials were produced and read (here insert the Credentials).  The House then appointed Nicholas Weaver Messenger, and Joseph Fry Door-Keeper.

On motion of Mr. C. Pinckney %u2013 ordered that a Committee be appointed to draw up rules to be observed as the standing orders of the convention %u2013 and to report the same to the House %u2013 a Committee by ballot was appointed of Mr. Wythe, Mr. Hamilton, and Mr. C. Pinckney, and then the House adjourned %u2018till Monday next at 10 o'clock A.M.

See all 2 stories…

Additional Info
sjackman -Contributions private
View count:
149 (recently viewed: 1)