Topic Page

Gone With The Wind

Gone with the Wind is a 1939 American epic historical romance film adapted from Margaret Mitchell's Pulitzer-winning 1936 novel and produced by David O. Selznick, of Selznick International Pictures. Set in the 19th-century American South, the film tells the story of Scarlett O'Hara, played by Vivien Leigh, and her romantic pursuit of Ashley Wilkes (Leslie Howard) who is married to his cousin, Melanie Hamilton (Olivia de Havilland), and her marriage to Rhett Butler (Clark Gable). Set against the backdrop of the American Civil War and Reconstruction era, the story is told from the perspective of white Southerners.


Related Pages



Margaret Mitchell’s only novel was Gone with the Wind, set in Clayton County and Atlanta, GA, during the Civil War and Reconstruction. The plot follows the life of Scarlett O’Hara, daughter of an Irish immigrant who owned the plantation Tara. The novel was first published in 1936. Beyond Scarlett’s love and business lives, the novel describes the 1864 fall of Atlanta and the overall devastation of war. Mitchell won the Pulitzer Prize in 1937. The famed film based on the novel was produced in 1939 and received a total of 10 Academy Awards, a record that stood for 20 years.

Clark Gable, Margaret Mitchell, Vivien Leigh

The Eugene Guard, 16 Dec 1939, Sat, Page 1

The San Bernardino County Sun, 16 Dec 1939, Sat, Page 1

Topic Details

Also known as: Director 1
Also known as: Director 1
Also known as: Director 1
Also known as: Author 1
Category: Uncredited 1
Category: Uncredited 1
Name: Sam Wood 1
Name: George Cukor 1
Name: Victor Fleming 1
Name: Margaret Mitchell 1

Looking for more information about Gone With The Wind?

Search through millions of records to find out more.


  1. Contributed by bruceyrock632

About this Memorial Page