The monument to the 16th Connecticut Volunteers at Antietam is about 150 yards east of Branch Avenue on the Otto farm. (39.44794° N, 77.73951° W; map) It was dedicated on October 8, 1894.
The 16th Connecticut was commanded at the Battle of Antietam by Colonel Francis Beach. The regiment was only two weeks off the train from Connecticut and almost totally innocent of military training and experience when it was thrown into the fight. They had loaded their muskets for the first time on the day before the battle.
Struck in the flank in a field of tall corn by A.P. Hill's savage counterattack, the 16th Connecticut lost a quarter of its men killed and wounded in the confusion and retreat that followed.
Monument map: Branch Avenue South
From the east side of the monument:
9th Army Corps
From the south side:
Number engaged - 779
From the west side:
the 16th Conn.
5 P.M. - Sept. 17, 1862
From the north side: